The 2024 Daytona 500, a cornerstone event in NASCAR, unfolded with an array of thrilling moments and a dramatic conclusion. William Byron emerged victorious in a race marked by intense competition and strategic racing. The event was commemorated as the 40th anniversary of Hendrick Motorsports’ inaugural Cup race, adding a layer of celebration to Byron’s triumph. He now joins an elite group of drivers to have won this prestigious race in the No. 24 Chevrolet, a list that includes the illustrious Jeff Gordon.

The race was not without its challenges, as a late multi-car crash involving Ross Chastain and Austin Cindric brought out the caution flag, setting the stage for a nail-biting finish. Byron, skillfully navigating through the chaos, took the lead just before the caution and held onto it until the end, with teammate Alex Bowman finishing second. The top five was rounded out by Christopher Bell, Corey LaJoie, and Bubba Wallace, showcasing the depth of talent in the field.

A significant moment that highlighted the unpredictable nature of Daytona was a massive collision on Lap 192 that involved 22 cars, leading to a red flag that paused the race for over 15 minutes. This incident underscored the intense and often perilous dynamics of speedway racing, with notable drivers such as Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, and Ryan Blaney among those unable to continue.

Byron’s win is a testament to his skill, the strategic acumen of his team, and a bit of racing fortune, encapsulating the essence of what makes the Daytona 500 one of the most exciting and unpredictable events in motorsports​​.

2024 Daytona 500 Final Standings: Drivers and Their Teams:

  • 1st place: William Byron, Axalta Chevrolet
  • 2nd place: Alex Bowman, Ally Chevrolet
  • 3rd place: Christopher Bell, DEWALT/Interstate Batteries Toyota
  • 4th place: Corey LaJoie, Chili’s Catch-a-Rita Chevrolet
  • 5th place: Bubba Wallace, McDonald’s Toyota
  • 6th place: AJ Allmendinger(i), Celsius Chevrolet
  • 7th place: John Hunter Nemechek, Dollar Tree Toyota
  • 8th place: Erik Jones, AdventHealth Toyota
  • 9th place: Noah Gragson, Black Rifle Coffee/Ranger Boats Ford
  • 10th place: Chase Briscoe, Mahindra Tractors Ford
  • 11th place: Kyle Larson, Chevrolet
  • 12th place: Kyle Busch, Zone Chevrolet
  • 13th place: Zane Smith #, WeatherTech Chevrolet
  • 14th place: Chase Elliott, NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet
  • 15th place: Martin Truex Jr., Bass Pro Shops Toyota
  • 16th place: Daniel Hemric, Cirkul Chevrolet
  • 17th place: Ty Gibbs, Monster Energy Toyota
  • 18th place: Chris Buescher, Fastenal Ford
  • 19th place: Denny Hamlin, FedEx Toyota
  • 20th place: David Ragan, Ford
  • 21st place: Ross Chastain, Busch Light Chevrolet
  • 22nd place: Austin Cindric, Discount Tire Ford
  • 23rd place: Ryan Preece, Ford
  • 24th place: Riley Herbst(i), Monster Energy Ford
  • 25th place: Josh Berry #, SunnyD Ford
  • 26th place: Justin Haley, TreeTop Apple Juice/Jacob Ford
  • 27th place: Anthony Alfredo(i), Death Wish Coffee Chevrolet
  • 28th place: Jimmie Johnson, Carvana Toyota
  • 29th place: Tyler Reddick, Nasty Beast Toyota
  • 30th place: Ryan Blaney, Menards/PEAK Ford
  • 31st place: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Boost by Kroger.Cottonelle Chevrolet
  • 32nd place: Joey Logano, Shell Pennzoil Ford
  • 33rd place: Brad Keselowski, Castrol Edge Ford
  • 34th place: Daniel Suarez, Freeway Insurance Chevrolet
  • 35th place: Todd Gilliland, gener8tor Ford
  • 36th place: Michael McDowell, Love’s Travel Stops Ford
  • 37th place: Austin Dillon, Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet
  • 38th place: Kaz Grala #, Ruedebusch Ford
  • 39th place: Harrison Burton, Motorcraft/DEX Imaging Ford
  • 40th place: Carson Hocevar #, Gainbridge/Zeigler Auto Group Chevrolet

Image is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license and was created by Zach Catanzareti Photo.