The Taliban announced a new government and leader, a few weeks after taking over Afghanistan. The announcement was made on the 7th of September, Tuesday night by the Taliban spokesman, Zabihullah Mujahid, which made headlines and shocked the world.

The chief spokesman announced Mohammad Hasan Akhund as the Prime Minister to lead the government. Cabinet ministers were also announced in the meeting, which include the members of the old guard of the Taliban. No women were announced as part of the new government.

Furthermore, Sirajuddin Haqqani, leader of the Haqqani network was named in the cabinet as a minister of interior. Haqqani is a global terrorist and has been on the FBI radar as a wanted terrorist and involved in suicide attacks alongside Al-Qaeda.

Hibatullah Akhundzada, the supreme leader of the Taliban announced that the government formed will start functioning soon. The Supreme leader of the Taliban further said that the new government would drive the country in the right direction, offering proper security and driving away strife and hunger.

On the other hand, immediate Afghan President Ashraf Ghani, who had fled the country after the Taliban invaded the Kabul city, expressed remorse for the country and wished he could make things different for Afghans. “It was a painful and difficult decision to leave Kabul, but I trust it was the only way to keep the citizens safe and the guns silent,” said Ashraf.

Meanwhile, the all-new male cabinet has had a fair share of critics as 17 of the 33 cabinet ministers are on the UN sanction list. Some of the 17 on the list are

  • Prime Minister Mullah Muhammad Hasan Akhund
  • The Second Deputy Prime Minister Molavi Abdul Salam Hanafi
  • The Interior minister Siraj udin Haqqan
  • The Defense minister Muhammad Yaqoobb Mujahid
  • The Foreign Affairs Minister Amir khan Muttaqi
  • Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar